Goa Award winners: Rodrigo Sargoyan’s ‘The Beasts’ sweeps major categories

Rodrigo Sargoyan’s latest photo, The Beasts (As Bestas), dominated the main awards at the 37th edition of the Goa Awards in Spain on Saturday evening, with nine gongs, including best film and director.

The film debuted at Cannes last year and led the Goa Awards nominations with 17 nods. The story of the film follows a middle-aged French couple who move to a small village, seeking intimacy with nature. However, their presence incites the two natives into outright hostility and shocking violence.

The Beasts Also won for Best Screenplay, Lead Actor and Supporting Actor.

of Movistar+ Model 77 From Alberto Rodriguez, which is reversed The Beasts With 15 nods, five wins, all of them in technical categories (make-up and hairstyling, special effects, art direction, costume design and production direction). Carla Simon’s Golden Bear winner Alcaras He received 11 nominations but came up empty-handed.

In other big wins, Alauda Ruiz de Azua’s first film lullaby (Cinco lobitos) picked up three wins, including Best New Director, Lead Actress (Lia Costa) and Supporting Actress (Susie Sanchez). Santiago Miter’s Oscar-nominated thriller Argentina: 1985 Won Best Ibero-American Film Award.

Juliette Binoche was this year’s International Goa recipient. The Spanish Film Academy presents the prize each year to honor personalities who “contribute to cinema as an art that unites cultures and audiences around the world.”

Accepting the award, Binoche said: “Thank you for this wonderful Goa, which is not for me, for the fire that lives me but is not mine.”

Before leaving the stage, Binoche paid tribute to Spanish filmmaker Carlos Saura who died on Friday at the age of 91 at his home in Madrid. There was respect for Saura throughout the show. Discussing the filmmaker’s death, Spanish Academy President Fernando Mendez-Leite said: “His passing has deeply shaken the entire film profession because he was one of the brightest assets of Spanish culture.”

Check out the full list of winners below:

– Best Film: As Bestas

-Best Director: Rodrigo Sargoyan, for As Bestas

-Best Actor in a Leading Role: Denis Menochet, for As Bestas

-Best Lead Actress: Laia Costa, for Cinco lobitos

– Best European film: Norwegian film The worst person in the world

Best Ibero-American Films: Argentina 1985 By Santiago Meter

-Best Supporting Actor: Luis Zahera, for As Bestas

-Best Supporting Actress: Susie Sanchez, for Cinco lobitos

-Best Animated Film: unicorn battle, By Alberto Vázquez

Best Documentary: Labordeta, a man without more, By Gaizka Urresti

Best Adapted Screenplay: Fran Araujo, Isa Campo and Isaki Lacuesta, for One year, one night

– Best Original Screenplay: Isabel Pena and Rodrigo Sargoyan, for As Bestas

-Best Art Direction: Pepe Dominguez del Olmo, for Model 77

-Best Editing: Alberto Del Campo, for As Bestas

Best Director of Photography: Alex De Pablo, for As Bestas

Best Animated Short Film: loop, By Pablo Polledri

Best Documentary Short Film: Curse. A love song for Sarajevo, By Amas Ramirez Garcia and Raul de la Fuente

-Best Fiction Short Film: Emotional architecture By Leon Ciminiani

-Best Original Music: Olivier Arson, for As Bestas

-Best Original Song: ‘Sentiendo lo Mucho’, by Joaquín Sabina y Leyva, for Sentientolo mucho

-Best New Director: Alauda Ruiz de Azua, for Cinco lobitos

-Best New Actor: Telmo Irureta, for Rite of Spring

-Best New Actress: Laura Galan, for Sardita

-Best Production Direction: Manuel Ocon Abarto, for Model 77

-Best Special Effects: Esther Ballesteros and Ana Rubio, for Model 77

-Best Sound: Aitor Berenguer, Fabiola Ordoyo and Yasmina Praderas, for As Bestas

-Best Makeup and Hairdressing: Yolanda Pina and Felix Terrero, for Model 77

-Best Costume Design: Fernando Garcia, for Model 77

-Goa of Honor: Carlos Saura

-Goa International: Juliette Binoche

! function(f, b, e, v, n, t, s) {
if (f.fbq) return;
n = f.fbq = function() {
n.callMethod ? n.callMethod.apply(n, arguments) : n.queue.push(arguments)
if (!f._fbq) f._fbq = n;
n.push = n;
n.loaded = !0;
n.version = ‘2.0’;
n.queue = [];
t = b.createElement(e);
t.async = !0;
t.src = v;
s = b.getElementsByTagName(e)[0];
s.parentNode.insertBefore(t, s)
}(window, document, ‘script’, ‘https://connect.facebook.net/en_US/fbevents.js’);
fbq(‘init’, ‘422369225140645’);
fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *