Janelle James will host the Writers Guild Awards in LA

Actress-writer-comic Janelle James will host the 2023 Writers Guild Awards Show in Los Angeles, which will take place March 5 at the Fairmont Century Plaza. He is currently starring in the Writers Guild Award-nominated Abbott Elementary on ABC.

“I am honored to host the WGA Awards this year,” James said in a statement. “I was told I could say whatever I wanted. And after making sure it was true and it wouldn’t be televised, that’s exactly what I was going to do.”

“Years ago, when I first worked with the hilarious and fearless Janelle James, my goal was to have her host the WGA Awards,” said Hugh Fink, executive producer of the LA edition of the awards gala. “To commemorate this amazing event,” he said, “all nominees will receive a $10,000 cash gift, redeemable at all participating FTX Bitcoin exchanges.”

Guild notes that after starting his stand-up career “at an open mic in a biker bar,” James went on to tour with Chris Rock, Amy Schumer and David Cross. In 2016, he was named one of Brooklyn’s 50 Funniest People, and was featured in the New Faces Showcase in Montreal, Just for Laughs.

James released his first comedy album Black and light in 2017, and received his first TV writing credit that same year The Rundown with Robin Theed. James would go on to write and have a recurring role on Showtime black monday and Apple TV+ Central ParkAnd in 2020, his podcast You in Danger Girl Listed as Spotify’s Top Comedy Podcast.

! function(f, b, e, v, n, t, s) {
if (f.fbq) return;
n = f.fbq = function() {
n.callMethod ? n.callMethod.apply(n, arguments) : n.queue.push(arguments)
if (!f._fbq) f._fbq = n;
n.push = n;
n.loaded = !0;
n.version = ‘2.0’;
n.queue = [];
t = b.createElement(e);
t.async = !0;
t.src = v;
s = b.getElementsByTagName(e)[0];
s.parentNode.insertBefore(t, s)
}(window, document, ‘script’, ‘https://connect.facebook.net/en_US/fbevents.js’);
fbq(‘init’, ‘422369225140645’);
fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *