Showtime sets new leadership under Nina Diaz as it merges with MTV Entertainment Studios, more execs exit including Docs chief Vinnie Malhotra

The full extent of the change at Showtime began to unfold as premium cable network Nina L. His new leadership team formed under Diaz and moved in with more executives following a corporate restructuring.

Showtime will merge with MTV Entertainment Studios as power is fully codified under Chris McCarthy, who is now president and CEO of Showtime/MTV Entertainment Studios and Paramount Media Networks, ahead of its rebrand with Showtime as Paramount+.

Docs chief Vinnie Malhotra is among several executives departing as part of the transition, including Michael Croteau, who was COO and CFO, Paramount Premium Group, Showtime Network, BET Network, Paramount Television Studios and Bellator, Rob Rosenberg, who was EVP, Gen. Counsel and Kent Sevener, EVP, Content Acquisition.

This comes after the company announced the departure of Jana Winograd this morning and a new role for her vice president of entertainment, Gary Levine.

Diaz, who has largely been an unscripted executive during his long career at the company, will expand his role as chief creative officer and president of content, in various iterations.

Cox, as Deadline previously indicated, will become Scripted’s president, reporting to Diaz, after playing a key role in the rollout of Yellowstone and its various spinoffs.

Amy Israel EVP, Original Programming, Global Scripted, Diazke Reporting, Trevor Rose EVP and Head of Talent & Casting, Diazke Reporting, Kerry Flynt EVP and Head of Production, Diazke Reporting and new COO Keys Hill-Edgar, and Michael Elias EVP and Scripted As head of production, Kerry Panichi reports to Flint.

In addition to Levine as senior creative advisor, Virginia Lazalde McPherson becomes EVP and head of strategy and business operations, McCarthy’s deputy for Showtime, Amy Britt remains as EVP, talent and casting, Tracy Wolfson remains as VP, global operations and global operations. Distribution, Ken Kay remains EVP of Distribution, Stephen Espinoza is moving to President of Sports, CBS Sports, Michael Engelman is Chief Marketing Officer and Kim Lemon is EVP, Head of Insights and Programming.

At Paramount Media Networks and Showtime/Entertainment Studios Group, Hill-Edgar becomes COO, Barbara Gennery becomes chief programming acquisitions officer at Paramount Global, takes over Showtime, Laurel Weir continues as EVP and head of programming and insights, Erica Wright-Tomlinson is now SVP and Head of HR, Jenny Scalzo as EVP of Brand Partnerships, Lance McPherson as EVP, Deputy General Counsel and Business & Legal Affairs, Lisa Barnett Pfefferman as EVP and Head of Communications, and MTV Co-Head Doc Films, Amy Campbell as Chief Marketing Officer, Candice Brancaggio CFO and Kelly Bradshaw remain as SVP and head of international markets.

Bruce Gilmer will continue to oversee all music across the company, including Showtime, in his role as President of Music and Tentpole Events, reporting to Bob Bakish.

“Please join me in congratulating these seasoned and exceptional leaders with whom we have had the privilege of working to maximize our full creative potential and harness our creative energies,” McCarthy wrote in the internal note.

McCarthy also addressed the layoffs, adding, “With this new structure, we will be saying goodbye to a number of colleagues and friends who have been instrumental in making Showtime what it is today, including the executive team: Michael Crotty, Vinnie Malhotra, Rob Rosenberg, Kent Sevener and, as announced earlier today Done, Jana Winograd. Please join me in thanking them for their invaluable contributions and wishing them the best in their next endeavors.”

! function(f, b, e, v, n, t, s) {
if (f.fbq) return;
n = f.fbq = function() {
n.callMethod ? n.callMethod.apply(n, arguments) : n.queue.push(arguments)
if (!f._fbq) f._fbq = n;
n.push = n;
n.loaded = !0;
n.version = ‘2.0’;
n.queue = [];
t = b.createElement(e);
t.async = !0;
t.src = v;
s = b.getElementsByTagName(e)[0];
s.parentNode.insertBefore(t, s)
}(window, document, ‘script’, ‘’);
fbq(‘init’, ‘422369225140645’);
fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *