Society of Composers and Lyricists Award winners include Michael Abels, Diane Warren, Alexandre Desplat, Guillermo del Toro

The Society of Composers and Lyricists (SCL) presented the winners of the 4th annual SCL Awards for Scores and Lyrics in Visual Media tonight at Skirball Cultural Center.

The evening was hosted by Darren Criss, who also treated the audience to a musical performance. Prizes were awarded in seven categories for music in visual media, in addition to the Spirit of Collaboration Award and two Jury Awards.

The Spirit of Collaboration Award was presented to Oscar-winning composer Justin Hurwitz and Oscar-winning filmmaker Damien Chazelle. The composer and filmmaker collaborated on five films, including Babylon, La La Land, Whiplash, First Man and Guy and Madeleine on Park Bench. The awards presentation was accompanied by a musical performance including “Audition (The Fools Who Dream)”. La La LandThe first man Theme for harp and theremin, and a Babylon Medley, including “Voodoo Mama” and “Herman’s Hustle”.

Ryan Lott accepted the award for Outstanding Score for an Independent Film Everything, everywhere, all at once For Son Lux. Additionally, Michael Abels accepted the award for Outstanding Original Score for a Feature Film no As well as the Jury Prize for the opera he composed with Rhiannon Giddens, Omar. A second jury award was made Women Warriors: Voices for Change.

In the song categories, Diane Warren accepted her award for Outstanding Original Song for a Drama or Documentary. Tell it like a woman, which is also nominated for Best Original Song at the upcoming Oscars Additionally, filmmaker/lyricist Guillermo del Toro and lyricist Roweban Katz accepted their award for Outstanding Original Song for a Musical or Comedy for “Ciao Papa.” Guillermo del Toro’s PinocchioWritten by Katz, del Toro and Alexandre Desplat.

Nami Melumad, who composed Thor: Love and Thunder with Michael Giacchino and became the first female composer of Star Trek Star Trek: ProdigyIt won the David Raksin Award for Emerging Talent Star Trek: Strange New World. Stephanie Economo, who received the first David Raksin Award at last year’s ceremony, won Best Original Score for Interactive Media. Assassin’s Creed Valhalla: Dawn of Ragnarok. Also a back-to-back winner, Emmy-winning composer Cristóbal Tapia de Vir won Outstanding Original Score for a Television Production white lotus For the second year in a row.

Past SCL Award winners who went on to win Oscars include Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross and Jon Batiste. the soulFor Hildur Guđnadóttir the jokerFor Hans Zimmer the hillAnd for Billie Eilish and FINNEAS No Time to Die.

4m SCL Awards 2023 – Winners in Bold (* indicates 2023 Oscar-nominated)

Outstanding score for a studio film

Michael Abels- no

Alexandre Desplat – Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio

Carter Burwell – Flute of Inisharin *

Michael Giacchino – batman

John Powell- Don’t worry darling

Outstanding score for an independent film

son lux- Everything to everyone at once *

Leo Birenberg, Jack Robinson – Weird: The Al Yankovic Story

Sharon Farber – Brainwashing: Sex-Camera-Power

Rob Simonsen- the whale

Mark Smith – The Reef: Stems

Outstanding Song for a Musical/Comedy

Alexandre Desplat, Roban Katz, Guillermo del Toro – from “Cio Papa” Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio

Khion Hersey, Sukari Jones, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, Mark Sonnenblick – “Good Afternoon” – cheerful

Danny Elfman – from “Light the Match”. Central Park

Billy Eichner, Marc Shaiman – from “Love Is Not Love”. Brothers

Weird Al Yankovic – from “Now You Know”. Weird: The Al Yankovic Story

Outstanding Song for a Drama/Documentary

Diane Warren – from “Clap”. Tell it like a woman *

Taylor Swift – From “Carolina”. Where the Crawdads Sing

Lady Gaga, Bloodpop – from “Hold My Hand”. Top Gun: Maverick *

Thames, Rihanna, Ludwig Goransson, Ryan Coogler – from “Lift Me Up” Black Panther: Wakanda forever *

Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross – from “(You Think It’s) Home”. bones and all

Outstanding Score for Television

Cristobal Tapia de Vir – white lotus

nicholas brittel- inside

Siddharth Khosla- Only murder in the building

Bear McCreary – The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power

Theodore Shapiro – break up

Outstanding score for interactive media

Stephanie Economo – Assassin’s Creed Valhalla: Dawn of Ragnarok

Nainita Desai- immortality

Bear McCreary – God of War Ragnarök

Winifred Phillips – Jurassic World Primal Ops

Christopher Willis – cat thief

David Raskin Award for Emerging Talent

Nami Melumad- Star Trek: Strange New World

Dara Taylor – invitation

Anna Drubich – uncivilized

DeAndre James Allen-Toole – god’s country

Esin Idingose ​​- Simchas and Sorrow

! function(f, b, e, v, n, t, s) {
if (f.fbq) return;
n = f.fbq = function() {
n.callMethod ? n.callMethod.apply(n, arguments) : n.queue.push(arguments)
if (!f._fbq) f._fbq = n;
n.push = n;
n.loaded = !0;
n.version = ‘2.0’;
n.queue = [];
t = b.createElement(e);
t.async = !0;
t.src = v;
s = b.getElementsByTagName(e)[0];
s.parentNode.insertBefore(t, s)
}(window, document, ‘script’, ‘’);
fbq(‘init’, ‘422369225140645’);
fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *